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CR 10-031 
 

ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN NATURAL RESOURCES BOARD 

REPEALING AND RECREATING RULES 
 
 

The Wisconsin Natural Resources Board proposes an order to amend NR46.02(24m), create 
NR46.16(1)(cm), amend NR46.16(7), amend NR46.165(4)(f), amend NR46.18(2)(d), create 
NR46.18(5)(c), repeal NR 46.18(7)(c), amend NR 46.18(8)(b), repeal NR46.30(2). 

 
FR-04-10 

 
Analysis Prepared by the Department of Natural Resources 

 
Statutes interpreted: Section 77.06 (2) and subch. VI Ch. 77, Stats . 
 
Statutory authority: Sections 77.06 (2), 77.82 (3) (c), 77.91 (1), Wis. Stats., and 227.11(2)(a), 

Wis. Stats. Section 77.82 gives implicit authority to the department to create rules for processing 
petitions. 
 
Analysis of proposed rules.  

 

Annual Stumpage Rate Adjustment:  Due to the enactment of Act 365 on May 18, 2010 the 

annual stumpage values are no longer promulgated through the rules process and have been 
removed from this rules package.  The department is developing processes to determine the 
annual stumpage rates for future years. 
 

 
Amendments to minimum medium density of plantations in NR 46.02(24m) and NR 
46.18(2)(d): Stocking requirements are established to determine when lands are adequately 

stocked and capable of fully utilizing the site to grow forest products in a reasonable time 
frame. Fully stocked stands can be thinned or harvested at regular intervals, providing 
Wisconsin’s forest products industry with valuable raw material and local municipalities with 
a periodic income through payment of severance and yield taxes. 
 
The minimum medium density for plantations has been established at 600 trees per acre. 
Current research has shown that plantations have the ability to fully utilize the size at lower 
densities than was previously determined, as long as the trees are evenly dis tributed 
throughout an area. NR 46.02(24m) and NR 46.18(2) will be amended to establish the 
minimum medium density for a plantation at 400 trees per acre to reflect this new 
information. 
 
Amendments to the managed forest law petition deadlines and management plans if 
petitions from owners of land entered as forest crop land are subject to an ownership 
change within 18 months prior to the end of the forest crop law contract period in NR 
46.16(1)(cm) and NR 46.18(5)(c).  

 
Landowners who purchase expiring forest crop law lands within 18 months prior to the 
expiration of forest crop law contract may be interested in enrolling in the managed forest 
law program. New landowners, depending upon the date of purchase, may find it difficult to 
meet the petition deadlines established by statute and administrative code. Forest crop law 
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lands that are not immediately enrolled in the managed forest law are placed on the regular 
property tax rolls and landowners are assessed a termination tax.  
 
NR 46.16(1)(cm) is created to allow landowners who purchase expiring forest crop law lands 
within 18 months prior to the end of the forest crop law expiration the opportunity to apply for 
the July 1 petition deadline or later for good cause to be considered for designation effective 
the following January 1. 
 
Management plans would need to be developed by certified plan writers; however 
management plans would not need to have been previously reviewed by the department by  
the deadline date of March 1. Department review of the managed forest law petition will be 
done according to the provisions of NR 46.18(5). 
 
Amendments to the requirements for additions to existing managed forest land in NR 
46.16(7):  

 
Recent changes to NR 46.16(5) required that landowners enroll lands by municipality except 
when lands on either side of the municipal line do not meet eligibility requirements. Changes 
to NR 46.16(7) will require that the same eligibility requirements apply to additions as well as 
new enrollments so that additions across municipal lines are done only in situations where 
lands cannot qualify for a new entry under NR 46.17 and s. 77.82(1)(a), Stats. 
 
Amendment to the format that Certified Plan Writers submit plan writing data to the 
department in NR 46.165(4)(f):  

 
The method in which certified plan writers submit their plan preparation costs for work done 
in the previous 12 months is being amended to make it easier for certified plan writers to 
submit the data. 
 
Currently, NR 46.165(4)(f) requires that certified plan writers submit their plan preparation 
cost by base rate per plan plus the cost per acre. Many certified plan writers charge clients 
an hourly rate or a per acre rate. These certified plan writers are not able to easily 
determine their base rate and cost per acre.  
 
The change to administrative code will eliminate the requirement to submit a base rate per 
plan.  
 
The department collects this information in order to determine the average cost of plan 
writing services statewide. This average value is used to charge landowners for plan 
writing services on plans that the department writes. 
 
Eliminate the requirement that offers for plan writing services must be in writing and 
guarantee that plans are submitted for the following July 1 deadline in NR 46.18(7)(c):  

 
Management plans that are submitted for the July 1 petition deadline without a management 
plan or indicating a certified plan writer are placed on a management plan referral list. 
Certified plan writers are given the opportunity to offer plan writing services to landowners. 
 
NR 46.18(7)(c) provided that certified plan writers must submit their offers in writing and 
include the cost for the management plan preparation service and guarantee that an 
approvable plan will be completed by the following July 1. The department does not require 
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that it receive a copy of the offer, only that a certified plan writer report that an offer has been 
made within 5 days of the offer under NR 46.18(7)(d). 
The managed forest law statutes and administrative codes establish the eligibility and 
management provisions of the program, but do not establish the business practices of 
certified plan writers in working with private landowners. Additionally, the cooperating 
forester agreement (note: certified plan writers must also be a cooperating forester) states 
that cooperating foresters have sole control over the methods, hours worked, and time and 
manner of any performance under the agreement other than as expressly required by the 
Cooperative Agreement.  
 
Because the department has no mechanism to insure that written offers are provided to 
landowners, and because the department does not direct the business practices of certified 
plan writers, NR 46.18(7)(c) this provision will be removed from administrative code. 
 
Amendment of the format in which the department charges landowners for plan 
writing services in NR 46.18(8)(b). 

 
The department must charge landowners a plan preparation fee that includes a base rate 
and a rate per acre. Changes to NR 46.165(4)(f) to eliminate the requirement to submit a 
base rate per plan will require the department’s billing procedure to also change. Changes 
to NR 46.18(8)(b) will eliminate the base rate per plan. 
 
Comparison of Federal Regulations: There are no known federal rules which apply to 

stumpage rates or Managed Forest Law petitions.  
 
Comparison of Adjacent States:  Checks with the surrounding states of Minnesota, Michigan, 
Iowa and Illinois indicate that while they offer some type of incentive program to forest 
landowners, none of the states have similar forestry practice requirements. 
 
Anticipated cost by private sector:    

 
Changes associated with this rule package will have no fiscal effect and allow additional time for 
plans to be written and approved.  Exceptions to application deadlines will allow additional time 
for plans to be written and approved. 
 
Analysis to determine effect on small business:  A review of the law shows there will be no 

impact on small businesses. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Agency Contact Person:  Kathryn J. Nelson, Forest Tax Policy Chief 

 Ph: 608/266-3545 
 e-mail: Kathryn.Nelson@Wisconsin.gov 
 

mailto:Kathryn.Nelson@Wisconsin.gov
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SECTION 1. NR 46.02(24m) is amended to read: 
46.02 (24m) “Understocked areas” means forest lands not meeting the minimum medium density classification 
(source, DNR Manual Code 8625.2) described in the following size classes: 

 

   Tree Diameter  
Ranges at 4.5 

Stand Size     Feet From   Minimum Medium 
_Classes____________Ground Level   Density________________________________ 
Seedlings    0”−1”    800 trees per acre1 

Saplings    1”−5”    400 trees per acre2 
Pole timber    5”−9”* ,11”**   7 cords per acre 
Sawtimber    9”+*,  11”+**   3,000 board feet per acre 
 
*For conif er species 

**For other species 
1 Applies to natural stands. Planted stands with unif orm spacing qualif y  as medium density  with 600 400  trees per. 
2 Applies to natural stands. Planted stands with unif orm spacing qualif y  as medium density  with 300 trees per acre.  
Note: DNR Manual Code is av ailable f or inspection at any  DNR of f ice. 

 

SECTION 2. NR 46.16(1)(cm) is created to read: 

NR 46.16(1)(cm). Notwithstanding pars. (a), (b) and (c), petitions from owners of land entered as forest cropland 

under s. 77.02, Stats. subject to an ownership change within 18 months prior to the end of the contract period shall 

be postmarked or received by the department no later than July 1 or later for good cause to be considered for 

designation effective the following January 1.  

 

SECTION 3. NR 46.16(7) is amended to read: 

NR 46.16(7) ADDITIONS. An owner petitioning may petition the department to designate 10 or more acres of land 

as managed forest land which is contiguous to land that was designated as managed forest land on or after April 28, 

2004 shall indicate on the petition whether the land subject to the petition is to be ordered designated as managed 

forest land under a separate order or as an addition to the previously designated and contiguous managed forest land . 

If the petition for an addition is for land which is contiguous to land that was designated as managed forest land on 

or after April 28, 2004 in an adjacent municipality, the land must be designated under a separate order if it meets the 

eligibility requirements under s . NR 46.17 and s. 77.82(1)(a), Stats. 

 

SECTION 4. NR 46.165(4)(f) is amended to read: 

NR 46.165(4)(f) On or before May 31 of each year submit a report of managed forest law management plan packet 

preparation costs charged as an independent certified plan writer during the preceding 12 months in a method 

approved by the department. The report shall include the cost by base rate plus cost per acre, the county where the 

land was located and the acres covered by the plan. 

 

SECTION 5. NR 46.18(2)(d) is amended to read: 
NR 46.18(2)(d) Reforestation of land to meet one of the following size and minimum medium density 
classifications: 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
Stand Size Classes Tree Diameter  Minimum 

Ranges at 4.5  Medium Density 

Feet From 

________________________Ground Level____________________________________________ 

      800 trees per acre 
Seedlings   0” – 1”   for natural stands. 

      600 400 trees per acre 

________________________________________________for planted stands._________________ 

      400 trees per acre 

Saplings    1” −5”   for natural stands. 
300 trees per acre 

________________________________________________for planted stands._________________ 

Pole timber 

   For conifer species  5” −9”   7 cords per acre 

 



 5 of 6 

   For other species  5” −11”__________________________________________________ 
Sawtimber 

   For conifer species 9”+   3,000 board feet 
per acre. 

   For other species  11”+_____________________________________________________ 

 

SECTION 6. NR 46.18(5)(c) is created to read: 

NR 46.18(5)(c)1. Management plans for petitions under s. NR 46.16 (1) (cm) received on or before July 1 shall be 

prepared by a certified plan writer. 

2. Management plans prepared by an independent certified plan writer shall be approved by the department, signed 

by the landowner, and submitted to the department forester no later than August 15 of the year in which the order of 

designation will be issued. The department shall deem a management plan completed if all the following apply: 

a. The management plan packet was submitted to the department as part of the managed forest law petition for 

review on or before July 1. 

b. The management plan includes all requirements under subs. (1) to (3). 

c. The department has approved the management plan. 

d. The owner has signed the management plan. 

3. Failure to return the signed and approved management plan no later than August 15 or a later date agreed to by 

the department will result in a denial of the petition. 

 

SECTION 7. NR 46.18(7)(c) is repealed. 

  

SECTION 8. NR 46.18(8)(b) is amended to read: 

NR 46.18(8)(b) On July 2 of each year the statewide plan preparation fee shall be calculated. The plan preparation 

fee shall consist of a base rate plus a cost per acre rate. The rates shall be calculated by averaging the cost 

preparation data submitted by independent certified plan writers under s. NR 46.165 (4) (f) from the 12−month 

period ending on the prior May 31. 

 

SECTION 9.  NR 46.30 (1) (e) is amended to read: 

NR 46.30 (1) (e) Except as provided in par. (f), a reduction of 30% of the stumpage value for severance and yield 

tax, as listed under sub. (2) the current stumpage value schedule, shall be made for those species salvaged as a result 

of catastrophic loss. In order to be eligible for this reduction, the catastrophic loss must directly involve 30% of the 

merchantable timber on 5 contiguous acres or more and must result in a reduction of 30% or more in stumpage value 

to the owner as certified by the owner on forms provided and verified by department appraisal. The owner or 

representative may be required to accompany the department field inspector in the determination  of eligibility for 

catastrophic reduction. 

 

SECTION 10.  NR 46.30 (1)(f) is amended to read: 

NR 46.30 (1)(f) A reduction of 70% of the stumpage value for severance and yield tax, as lis ted under sub. (2) the 

current stumpage value schedule, shall be made for those species salvaged as a result of catastrophic loss caused by 

fire mortality. In order to be eligible for this reduction, the catastrophic loss must directly involve 30% of the 

merchantable timber on 5 contiguous acres or more and must result in a reduction of 30% or more in stumpage value 

to the owner as certified by the owner on forms provided and verified by department appraisal. The owner or 

representative may be required to accompany the department field inspector in the determination of eligibility for 

catastrophic reduction. 

 

SECTION 11. NR 46.30 (2) is repealed. 

 

SECTION 12. EFFECTIVE DATE.  This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following publication in 

the Wisconsin administrative register as provided in s. 227.22 (2) (intro), Stats. 
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SECTION 13.  BOARD ADOPTION.  This rule was approved and adopted by the State of Wisconsin Natural 

Resources Board on  June 23, 2010. 

 

 

 Dated at Madison, Wisconsin                                 . 

 

 

  

 STATE OF WISCONSIN 

 DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES 

 

 

 

 By                                                                 . 

  Matthew Frank, Secretary 

(SEAL) 

 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 


